AtlanticOER is committed to supporting educators across the Atlantic region in developing free, online, accessible learning materials, including textbooks.


AtlanticOER is a service that supports the hosting and creation of open educational resources by educators and students in the Atlantic provinces of Newfoundland and Labrador, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Prince Edward Island.


Funded by the Council of Atlantic University Libraries (CAUL-CBUA), AtlanticOER began as an Open Textbooks Survey working group in 2017-18. In 2018-19, an Open Textbooks Roadmap working group was formed, and this work was continued in 2020-21 by the OER Repository Implementation Working Group. Finally, 2021 saw the creation of the CAUL-CBUA OER Committee.

The AtlanticOER service was officially launched on February 9th, 2021.


Cynthia Holt

CAUL-CBUA Executive Director

Daniel Cockcroft

AtlanticOER Project Manager

OER Committee Members